TSI - the de facto standard for data centers

Do you have any questions or comments? Contact us!
TSI / EN 50600 evaluation and certification Request your non-binding offer!

Trusted Site Infrastructure (TSI) is a method for the evaluation and certification of physical security and availability of data centers established since 2002. The criteria catalog TSI.STANDARD on which it is based is geared to the measures recommended by the basic IT protection standard, the so-called “IT-Grundschutz” of the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI) considering the relevant EN and DIN standards - especially EN 50600 – but also VDE guidelines and VdS publications. In addition TSI.STANDARD takes into account best practices.


TSI stands for technical competence

For the TSI audit process, there is a 25-person interdisciplinary team of experienced auditors and technical experts available. Because a data center consists of many different technical aspects, the resources of a certification institution should ideally cover specialists for all individual disciplines, e.g. for power and cooling, fire protection and security systems, the evaluation of environmental hazards and building construction. In the banking sector, for example, TSI certification now represents a basic requirement, because financial services providers are subject to strict regulatory supervision, and TSI certification allows verification of the reliability of their data centers.

TSI: comprehensive, comprehensible, clear

TSI represents state-of-the-art technology, high availability, and comparable installations, since the criteria are more detailed than those of EN 50600.

The following areas are inspected and evaluated:

  • ENV: Environment
  • CON: Construction
  • FIR: Fire Protection, Alarm & Extinguishing Systems
  • SEC: Security System & Organization
  • CAB: Cabling
  • POW: Power Supply
  • ACV: Air Conditioning & Ventilation
  • ORG: Organization
  • DOC: Documentation
  • DDC: Dual Site Data Center

Overview of TSI Level

Certification according to TSI.STANDARD permits clear classification of data centers into four different levels, which classify the quality of the utility supply systems and all other elements:

Level 1: Medium protection requirement / Medium availability

  • functional basic supply systems for safeguarding the operating conditions of IT server rooms, taking into consideration access security and fire protection

Level 2: Extended protection requirement / Extended availability

  • safeguarding supply systems through redundancy, taking into consideration environmental hazards for the IT systems, access security and fire protection

Level 3: High protection requirement / High availability

  • no single point of failure (SPoF) in the supply systems, increased break-in resistance, safeguarding of supply pipelines, fire containment, status monitoring

Level 4: Very high protection requirements / Highest availability

  • dedicated data center building, perimeter security, maintenance tolerances
  • https://www.tuvit.de/en/services/data-centers-colocation-cloud-infrastructures/certification-of-data-centers/

Certification of data centers

For new data centers, design concepts can be evaluated to ensure that they fulfill the TSI criteria. On the basis of detailed and comprehensive requirements, this allows binding specifications to be made and reviewed.

  • https://www.tuvit.de/en/services/data-centers-colocation-cloud-infrastructures/design-assessment-of-data-centers/

Design assessment of data centers

Mario Lukas Senior Account Manager Data Center

Joachim Faulhaber Product Manager Data Center

Further services